baseball equipment
TOTAL BASEBALL

From the Dugout – Little League Rule Myths

Posted On October 1, 2013 at 10:21 am by / No Comments

FROM THE DUGOUT: Total Baseball Blog

Little League Rule Myths

Mistakes are a part of human nature. We all make them. But before you call out the umpires working your son or daughter’s little league game, maybe you should ask yourself the following question:

Am I 100% sure I know the rule book better than the umpire, to say they got the call wrong?

There are a ton of misconceptions about the rules of Little League. But thanks to the website llupmires.com, we can tackle these “myths” and gain a better understanding of the actual rules of Little League. Let’s go over a few.

 Myth 1: A batter who is batting out of order is out

Myth Debunked: Well, it is actually the other way around. If anyone is declared out, it is actually the person who was supposed to be batting, not the batter who is batting out of turn.

However to receive an out, the defense must know when to call out the incident. The team must protest the infraction after the at-bat in question has ended, but before the next one begins. If they do so, then the batter who was supposed to be up is called out, and the batter who is after them in the lineup is now up to bat.

 Myth 2: On a double play ball, the runner on first base must attempt to get out of the way.

 Myth Debunked: Let’s play out 2 scenarios –

The first scenario is Cam is on 1st when Jack hits a ball to the shortstop. Short flips the ball to 2nd. As 2nd tries to complete the double play, Cam continues running toward 2nd and gets hit by the ball.

The 2nd scenario is the exact same, except instead of Cam continuing to run towards 2nd, he stops dead in his tracks and gets hit with the ball.

While popular opinion would suggest that Cam has committed interference and that Jack should be out as well, little league rules actually state that Cam did nothing wrong. The runner has the “right of way” toward the base, and as long as he made no deliberate effort to interfere, no infraction occurred.

 Myth 3: If a batter does not remove the bat from the strike zone while in a bunting position, it’s an automatic strike.

 Myth Debunked: It depends. When a player gets into a bunting position, he is simply just adopting a different batting stance. Therefore, if he keeps his bat in the zone but makes no attempt to actually bunt the ball, it is not an automatic strike. With that being said, obviously a player would be doing a much better job convincing the umpire that he is not attempting to bunt the ball if he were to take the bat back.

These are just 3 of many myths this site covers. You can find this article at the link below. Understanding the rules and being able to decipher fact from folly will benefit all parties involved and ensure a fun, clean game!

http://www.llumpires.com/rules/myths.html

*source: llumpires.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *